NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2025 Revealed – Telemundo Philadelphia (41)

The NASCAR Hall of Fame will add three new members next year.

Carl Edwards, Ricky Rudd and Ralph Moody will make up the 2025 class, NASCAR revealed Tuesday. They will be consecrated in February.

Edwards and Rudd represent the “Modern Era”, while Moody is the “Pioneer” member. Modern Era candidates include recently retired drivers, crew chiefs, owners and contributors, while Pioneer candidates are those whose career began more than 60 years ago.

Edwards was one of the most successful drivers to never win a Cup championship. He earned 28 wins in 445 career starts from 2004 to 2016, along with 38 wins and a championship in the second-tier Xfinity Series. At the Cup level, he earned crown jewel victories in the Coca-Cola 600 (2015), Southern 500 (2015) and Bristol Night Race (2007, 2008). After each victory, Edwards was known to do a backflip from his car and then wave to the crowd.

Edwards spent his first 11 years with Roush-Fenway Racing before two years with Joe Gibbs Racing, where he unexpectedly retired after making the Championship 4 in 2016. He also lost the 2011 title to Tony Stewart in a playoff. This was Edwards’ fourth year on the ballot.

Rudd was known as NASCAR’s Iron Man after starting a record 788 consecutive races between 1981 and 2005 (a record later broken by Jeff Gordon). He won 23 Cup races, including at least one in each season from 1983 to 1998. Rudd’s biggest victory was the 1997 Brickyard 400 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway while he was driving for his own Rudd team. Performance Motorsports.

The 67-year-old Virginia native spent time with big-name teams such as Richard Childress Racing, Hendrick Motorsports, Robert Yates Racing and Wood Brothers, making more starts (906) than any other driver besides Richard Petty. Rudd is now a member of the Hall of Fame after eight years on the ballot.

Moody, who died in 2004, had a long and storied life and career in the sport. The Massachusetts native drove a tank under Gen. George S. Patton and went on to win four NASCAR Cup Series races in 47 starts from 1956 to 1962.

He then founded Holman-Moody, a race car team and manufacturer that won 92 NASCAR Grand National races and two championships, including the 1967 Daytona 500 with Mario Andretti.

Additionally, Dr. Dean Sicking received the Landmark Award for “outstanding contributions to NASCAR, often outside of the race car.”

Sicking, although he will not be inducted into the Hall of Fame, was recognized with the prestigious Landmark Award. He invented the SAFER (Steel and Foam Energy Reduction) barrier, which added shape and impact energy management systems to the wall that have undoubtedly saved lives. NASCAR commissioned it after Dale Earnhardt’s death in 2001 and developed the SAFER barrier. Since then, no NASCAR driver has died in an accident at the track.

Modern Era candidates who were on the ballot but not elected include Greg Biffle, Neil Bonnett, Tim Brewer, Jeff Burton, Randy Dorton, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, and Jack Sprague. Ray Hendrick, Banjo Matthews, Larry Phillips and Bob Welborn were the Pioneer candidates who missed the cut.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame was inaugurated in 2010 when Earnhardt, Petty, Bill France Sr., Bill France Jr. and Junior Johnson were inducted. Five new members were added each year until 2020 before the current format (two Modern Era, one Pioneer) was adopted for 2021 and beyond.